Lasagna… Mmm!

I made lasagna for the FIRST time the other night. I told my fiance to tell me the truth, because if he doesn’t then I’ll just keep making it crappy without knowing it 🙂 But he said it was actually very good. I found a bunch of different lasagna recipes on one of my favorite sites, AllRecipes, and then I just mixed them together.. adding things I liked and taking away stuff I could live without. So eventually, I came up with a pretty plain recipe.. with no extra frills. Once I called my mom and told her I made lasagna and it was successful, she asked about my recipe and I told her. She said, “Why did you cook the noodles? Out of all the years I’ve made lasagna for you, have you ever seen me cook my noodles first?” So I guess that’s one thing I’ll do different next time I make it! Anyway, here is the recipe I used and me in the process!

(Above: This is my hand-written recipe for my lasagna. It may be a little unreadable so I’ve typed it below!)

Ingredients:

9 lasagna noodles, 2 1/2 cups of Ricotta cheese, 1 1/2 cups of Mozzarella cheese (shredded),  1/2 lb lean ground beef, 2 1/2 teaspoons dried oregano, 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder, 2 teaspoons white sugar, 3 (6.5 ounce) cans of tomato sauce, 1 1/2 teaspoons dried basil.

I think the rest is pretty legible, but if anyone actually wants clarification on what it says, just let me know!

(Above: The pan looks too small but once you put all of the stuff on the noodles, it spreads out and cooks nicely into the 9”x13” size pan. Here I am trying to lay the hot noodles down.. my mom was right, I shouldn’t have cooked them first!)

Well the finished product tasted pretty darn good. I was satisfied. I think my next feat will be pumpkin pie.. or something having to do with the Holidays!

One Response to “Lasagna… Mmm!”

  1. Amy Says:

    Ooh! I am so stealing that recipe! Looks damn good!

Leave a Reply

